Kind of a WIP Wednesday!

wp-1491390817762.jpg

Happy Wednesday!

It’s supposed to be WIP Wednesday but I’ve been waiting on my yarn and not even lying right now – 5 minutes ago it came and i took pictures and thought I would blog straight away.
I’ve got issues.

So I’ve been making some progress on my spring blanket but it just feels like it’s not growing with having the colour changing and then the block stitch to do in between. I kind of feel like I should of done a granny stripe or just a basic stripe, but I will stick with what I have chosen as I need to stop changing my mind about projects!

Anyway, I started to make hexagons but that’s on hold, it really isn’t a project to be finished straight away like the Charlotte’s squares and I think i will tackle my hexagons on the weekends so give me a break from everything else.

As you know, I didn’t buy any yarn from my trip on Sunday – I ended up buying 6 balls of King Cole Drifter from Wool warehouse.
I wanted a variegated yarn as did my mum and we spent around 2 hours literally browsing and then drifter spoke to me! I looked at Stylecraft Cabaret and King Cole riot and I LOVE them but I wanted something a little more relaxing.
King Cole Drifter is the one! – What i loved about this yarn (Which I’ve never tried by the way it was all first opinion) Is each name is named after an American State. How cool is that?
I’ve been in love with America since I was a teen, I don’t know why but It’s my dream to go travelling and see some of those hidden gem places that people don’t really mention.
Because when people go to the U.S they always head for New York or Disney world and the well known spots, I want to stay at some little town that’s in the middle of no where!
THOUGH speaking of well known, I need to go to San Fran.

wp-1491390807005.jpg
MOVING ON LOL – This yarn is 100g and 25% cotton, 6% wool, 69% premium acrylic. It’s so soft I can’t even describe. I think King Cole is spot on with his variegated yarns and I will buy more of this brand and some of the others.
It also has 329 yards 300 metres. I actually compared it to my DK that i usually use and it has a lot more metres in it so I guess you could say you get a little bit more value for money.
I should hope so because it was ยฃ4.99 a ball – BUT SO WORTH IT. Especially if its for yourself, and I’ve learnt that sometimes spending a little bit more on yarn (depending on the brand etc and i tend to compare before deciding) it feels nicer, just the quality itself.
But I know some people have spent a lot of money on yarn before and it’s not very good, which is why i am fussy and take my time when I decide to up the price on yarns.

The shade i got is called Alabama ๐Ÿ˜€

So what kind of blanket am i going to do? I’m all for simplicity and I don’t think fancy stitches are needed with variegated yarn and I was toying with the idea of a C2C WHICH I aren’t really a fan of but when i started to look for inspiration I started to fall in love with C2C :/ SO it’s looking that way.
OR I was going to just literally go for a HDC because it’s easy and effective.

But then, the past few days I was messing around with Stitch fiddle thanks toย Tami – Tanglewoodknotsย , I was planning on doing a c2c graphgan so would i get bored etc

So I’m going to have a little think about it as I want to start it by this afternoon.
I have an amazing opportunity tomorrow I can’t say much yet but I am excited – It’s a job. I did have a new job but it sucked so bad – Don’t judge.
But this is something truly fascinating.

Though all i can think about is blankets and yarn ARGH!

I hope everyone is having a great week, its half way now. I am still shocked actually how quickly the days seem to pass and this year already? I still haven’t shifted my arse to lose weight.

Hope to browse through and see some wips abit later I love looking at peoples work!

PEACE

wp-1491390795777.jpg

5 thoughts on “Kind of a WIP Wednesday!

  1. “All I can think about is blankets and yarn” pretty much sums up my life right now. I work a full time day job and I just moved house so I need to finish unpacking, but all I really want to to do is surround myself with yarn, and crochet it all!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes yes yes ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… I always thought I was abit crazy but I’m so glad there are others!!! Just unpack the yarn that’s technically still unpacking LOL

      Like

  2. Oh this yarn is REALLY pretty!! It was definitely worth the wait. I can see it being tricky to find the ‘right’ project for it. Good for you not tolerating a sucky job!! Good luck with your new mystery opportunity!!! Are you trying out to be a female wrestler????? hahaha that would be awesome! I’m imagining you breaking stadium chairs over your opponents head, and your wrestling costume would be something you crocheted!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t even see this comment until now so I’m truly sorry unless I did already and I’ve forgot.. I’m living in the matrix. Would love to be a wrestler ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

