WIP Wednesday – Catching waves, neat ripple crochet blanket.

DSC_0063

Ner ner ner, i accomplished one of my goals!!! I finished my sea wave ripple blanket.
YES! So proud right now but i aren’t proud that since the start of this month ive done nothing but eat shit, drink diet pepsi and just meh whatever though.

So happy 4th of July for yesterday LOL! – I spent ALL day on this thing and I started one of my other goals which was to watch Pretty Little Liars as i had never seen it before, i actually think i started it on Sunday? Whatever. It hit midnight i had like 6 rows to go and i was so drained from working it all day that i left it til today.

Why is it when your so close to the end of something it literally takes forever? Please explain that to me, my wrists were tingly i had crocheted that much. I took toilet breaks quick email check etc but honestly i just busted ass.

I followed the Attic 24 neat ripple pattern for this blanket and it turned out pretty well.
I think during the process i had to frog a few rows as my count was off at the end of the row and i usually found that i would fucked up around about the start of a new row so it was such a pain to frog back all that way. FML – I will say that this blanket wouldn’t be done if it was adult size, this is a baby blanket and measures at 31×35 inches so its a nice size for a baby. I kind of hate thinking of blanket sizes because i don’t come across babies that often LOL so when i first ever met my friends baby, i was like shit they really are SMALL. I don’t know why i thought they were as big as a blanket. Honestly – I think that’s a good reason why i will never be ready for a child hahaha Ill be buying my kid cars before they even know how to tie laces.

PicsArt_07-05-04.52.02

 

I actually really enjoyed doing this blanket. Anything blue i love, because it’s my favourite colour. It relaxes me, i mean just look at those shades i feel so close to the sea which is always such a memorable and relaxing place right?
It makes me want to pack up and live in a little wooden house right on the sand 😦

I usually get really bored of blankets even when it’s a request and i tried to do the ripple way back when i started my blog and i never finished it. In fact whatever i did do got thrown out months ago a long with the colours.

DSC_0060

The yarn is used is…… Obviously stylecraft. I always go back to this brand and i think they are spot on with the shades that they have especially the blues. I have a few more colours that i wanted to use as it reminds me of being under water and searching for Atlantis. But i don’t know what ill do yet as i just seem to have yarn just for ‘just incase’ type of moments.

Starting from the white and going to the darkest shade here are the colours i used in stylecraft special DK :
White (1001)
Duck egg (1820)
Storm blue (1722)
Petrol (1708)

 

I used a 4mm crochet hook and for the border i jut went down the sides of where i started and end rounds and did two TR/DC in each space of where i have row of colours. Meaning i did 6 TR/DC for each set of colour.
I tried to follow the Attic 24 edge pattern i think that’s kind of the start of it but I just did my own thing. I didn’t want anything over the top for a border and i didn’t even do a border on the sides that were wavy.

I can’t say i ever use crazy borders on my projects because i like to keep that aspect of it simple, i see it more of a frame and the blanket is it’s own portrait.

And here is the final picture IMG_20170705_170157_831

 

So for the rest of today/evening and tomorrow well some of tomorrow i am going to relax, check my bullet journal and it’s to do lists then move on to the next.
(I can now record a video without any issues so Saturday will be bullet journal shit cause you can plan next week with me :D)

 

That’s it for today. I am catching up on blogs BTW So if i comment or like something from weeks back that’s me catching up LOL!
Hope everyone’s having a good week and if your craft happy what you all been making?

12 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday – Catching waves, neat ripple crochet blanket.

  1. Hi, love this. Especially the different shades of blue. I’m into amigurumi at the moment. Lots of orders for bunnies. There on my blog. Also finishing ufo’s( unfinished objects) . Finished two this last week. Even though I’ve been sick. Also started some converse booties as request from a friend. But I’m crochet happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yesssssss bunnies are so popular right now they are really cute. I much prefer making toys than blankets as everyone most people do blankets! Sorry to hear you’ve been poorly, crocheting always helps to relax lol!!

      Like

  2. Love this Rebecca!! It really does remind me of waves on the beach! Since you only posted this yesterday and I’m reading it today that means I’m almost all caught up on my post reading!!! yaaaaaay! I’ve crocheted until my hands and wrists were numb too!!! Take a break to rest your wrists! Have a fun relaxing day! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Legit wish I had the sea drowning me right now it’s so hot 😂😂 yay you for catching up I thought it would never end for you lol! Rest your hands girl, I’m off to make omelette and ps4 time. Enjoy your day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

