Catch up and book review – Elly Griffiths, The Chalk Pit. 

What’s up everyone! I’m slowly back so I thought I’d do a wee catch up and a quick review on a book I’ve just finished. Actually I finished it at 4am last night, I would of done so sooner but I’ve been so distracted the past few. 

Right, so as of now every two weeks I’m going to do book reviews and by the end of August I’ll do an optional thing of book club. I aren’t starting this now because I’m going away to Liverpool for a few days next week and then I have some other things to be getting on with. 

I’m okay. I haven’t crocheted at all I keep getting anxiety when I think about it and I think I really did need this break of not doing any of it because I have over worked my brain and it’s come to a point where I just have no desire for it. I have no desire for my calligraphy, bullet journal nothing. Depression is a part of it and other things in my life right now but I really am feeling the urge to crochet over the weekend. 

So let’s get into the book review!! 

The Chalk Pit by elly Griffiths 

Okay I should say something about the author but I’m actually going to do a full post on it as I have ordered the first two books in this series as this is not the first. 

In the ninth Ruth Galloway mystery, Ruth and Nelson investigate a string of murders and disappearances deep within the abandoned tunnels hidden far beneath the streets of Norwich.

Norwich is riddled with old chalk-mining tunnels, but no one’s sure exactly how many. When Ruth is called in to investigate a set of human remains found in one of them, she notices the bones are almost translucent, a sign they were boiled soon after death. Once more, she finds herself at the helm of a murder investigation.
 
Meanwhile, DCI Nelson is hunting for a missing homeless woman, Barbara, who he hears has gone “underground.” Could she have disappeared into the labyrinth? And if so, is she connected to the body Ruth found? As Ruth, Nelson, and the rest of their team investigate the tunnels, they hear rumors of secret societies, cannibalism, and ritual killings. When a dead body is found with a map that appears to be of The Underground, they realize their quest to find the killer has only just begun—and that there may be more bodies underfoot.  (source, 
https://books.google.co.uk/books/about/The_Chalk_Pit.html?id=9cWlDAAAQBAJ&redir_esc=y&hl=en

Rating for me out of 10 is 7.5

Which is high for me LOL. 

OKAY, I love this book. And if you love a female character that’s clever and easily liked then this is for you. I love thrillers and even more so when it’s in England, because us British folk are odd.

It didn’t kick off straight away but each chapter had something to do with the main story line and as you read on it gets more and more in depth and interesting. By the time your past half way, you want to keep reading til the end. 

The character Ruth which I’m assuming is the main one (I’ve not read the other books) comes across quite normal you almost feel like you know her. Every character as a good personality and at the back of the book after the epilogue has a page for the characters. 

I was left VERY interested to read the past books and yearning for the next. The twist is quite good but I did feel as though it was sort of rushed towards the end. I think this is due to the slow start. THE SLOW START IS NOT A NEGATIVE FOR Me, it’s not boring its just very informative. 

What I liked was I didn’t sit and think fuck I need to read all the others to make sense of everyone in the book and what they talk about. I did not feel confused, I felt like I’d already read them all because she included small bursts of back story. 

I have OCD though with things that have a collection or series so I have ordered the first two and really excited to see it from the beginning as (spoiler) Ruth has a child In this book and yeah etc lol. 

It wasnt a crazy intense serial killer type thriller like some authors I’ve read aka Jo Nesbo. Even though the story sounds a little grim it wasn’t as evil or sinister as it makes out so I do think that they’ve slightly exaggerated. 

Pros: Easy read, smooth story, interesting character, book doesn’t leave you confused about the past books. 

Cons: wasn’t sinister enough for me, it mentions cannibalism and you don’t ever find out more etc I felt somewhat mislead in what I was expecting. It was slightly rushed towards the end especially when a love scene happened kind of rapidly and seemed somewhat pointless. Though I can’t fault much about it as it’s my first time reading this series. 

So basically it’s worth a read, I felt right at home reading it if that makes sense! 

How doesn’t like missing people murder and bones!! 
I probably won’t have time to post again but I’m hoping to post before my trip. I hope every one is doing okay 🙂

5 thoughts on “Catch up and book review – Elly Griffiths, The Chalk Pit. 

Leave a Reply

