Story Time · writing

Underground – short story

I don’t remember the last time i touched air, or sniffed the fumes of petrol on a busy morning full of traffic. Though it’s not possible to touch air is it? But you do understand the feeling of it. I used to enjoy the breeze every time i would leave our shopping centre, it would instantly dry my sweaty palms and cool my wet neck.
I would sweat a lot whilst shopping, especially indoors. The rush of wanting to go from shop to shop trying to get through people, though why rush? It was as if sometimes the shop would disappear but i had this urgency to just get out of the way of people because my fucking God, some humans did not look where they were going. I often felt like i was the only one that would look around or left and right to see if my path was safe, or to spot the arseholes who weren’t actually looking. Sometimes if i bumped into the ignorant of the blind, they would look to me as if it was my fault.
I felt like an alien whilst people wandered and stared solely in a straight line, not giving a shit where they walked because they wanted to walk where ever they felt like it.
The satisfaction of entering a shop, but then to do it all again whilst in that shop. Avoiding people with prams or large baskets and trolleys. I always moved out of the way when someone wanted to get past or decided to shuffle next to me and look on the same shelf. That pissed me off, i had to wait until they were done so i could continue with that section. Selfish shoppers, and what’s with the parents that just allow children to wander. I am not apologizing if knock over your kid.  I don’t miss the stress of being amongst other humans whilst shopping. – In fact i am with them twenty four hours a day, and have been for the past fourteen years. We haven’t seen an ounce of daylight and i haven’t had a strong lung in take of air for a long time, i’ve forgotten what most things look like or taste like.
Our air though is filtered through and reaches us underground, Lord knows what would happen if something was to go wrong. The ‘Army’ as we call them i suppose are trained enough to take on that kind of situation if it was to happen, though too many have already been eaten and killed. The overly brave, who think whatever is up on the surface is weak and no match for the mighty army. How wrong were they? Once a month, a team does venture out for a whole week to seek food and supplies, even try and find more traces of humans. Not many return, and each time we are thankful for the loss of life so we can continue living.
My cabin isn’t too bad, i made some fake plants out of clay the other day with another bunch of women. Most of them are married and the men go off doing labour work, us females don’t have much to do except look after the children and educate, cook, nurse or like me wander and observe.
Never in my life would i imagine that whats left of some of the population is here living underground. I can’t speak for the rest of the United Kingdom or the cities outside of mine, in fact the rest of the world.
We haven’t had human contact outside for the ten years, the four years this all happened was fine. I guess you could say hopeful? I mean it’s a long time isn’t to be underground and not speak to humans above.  – I can’t really remember what made us all live underground. All i know is that if we go up, we die.
I think i was thirteen years old when this happened, i am now twenty seven. I don’t know what year is it, or date. We have our own calender’s and i gathered all the months and dates are incorrect but it helps us to live everyday, so we can celebrate birthdays or even Christmas.

It’s my birthday soon, i want to leave the underground and live in the real world. I am going to make my escape the day after my birthday. I need to know the truth, i need to see daylight.

 

5 thoughts on “Underground – short story

  1. Very cool story Rebecca!! I would love to know how the world ended up underground and what will happen to them, but I also love this little peek into one person’s life that shows just a glimpse of what the new “normal” is for the world. Well done!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I dont know ahaha that’s a good question. I might have to revisit some of these and see if anything else pops in my mind. I literally just wrote this before bed it just happens so maybe a short story book is a good idea 🤣😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

